New limits to cruise repricing?

jumbojem96

So, having watched many youtube videos on the topic, I was made to believe that I could call in to NCL and reprice my cruise if I noticed a price drop anytime up until embarkation day. I don't know if this has to do with COVID, or having booked through a TA (United), but is my experience new or typical?

I noticed the price drop by a few hundred dollars on my 1/9 Joy sailing. I called a few weeks ago for an earlier price drop and I was told the money would be refunded back onto my card (this happened after the final payment due date). This week, I noticed the bigger price drop, and I called in. Now, they're saying that they cannot refund it to my card nor give it to me as OBC. They can only give it as a FCC, and even that is uncertain they said. I was told they will have to submit a request, and if it's accepted, I'll get it in around 30 days. They can't do anything else.

My issue is that I'm a PhD student. I don't have a lot of time or money to cruise often, so a FCC will probably not do me any good at the moment. I'm hoping that if they do give me the FCC, I get it before my upgrade bid is accepted or denied so I can apply it towards that (praying for a Haven upgrade lol). Otherwise it'll probably just be wasted money. 

Just disappointed!

In the past I think that if a price drop occurs after final payment, NCL has been know to give a one-time offering of OBC (OR FCC) for the difference in a price drop.  (Before final payment you can get a refund, as many times as price drops occur).  

• Like 1

In the past, you could usually get a one-time adjustment, in the form of an upgrade or obc (25% of the fare difference).  Not a refund after final payment.  That was pre-covid.  If you pushed the issue, you might be able to pay the difference for a 2nd upgrade.