Skype on board ?

familytrippers

Has anyone used Skype while cruising to keep in touch with family back home? I am new to the service but was hoping my husband and I could call our kids (and see them!) while crusing to Alaska at the end of the month. I have to admit, I don't totally get how it works so really don't know if this is even possible on the ship. (we are bringing our skype enabled laptop). thanks!:)

There are only a few places on the ship where you can use a wireless laptop, and the charges can be quite high. The ship uses satellite for internet connections and has limited bandwidth, so even if you could get on you might not be able to maintain the connection.

That's a great question and I haven't seen it asked before. As the OP said, internet connection can be tricky onboard, not to mention expensive, so I wouldn't count on it as a means of communication with home.

You may want to consider "skyping" your kids when you are in the ports - you should get much cheaper prices. Of course, then you would have to take your laptop back to the ship or carry it around. Some of the ports are pretty easy to get on and off the ship though.

Just a thought..