Nervous about Carnival

jhondy

I'm looking into taking a cruise in either early Jan. or during my spring break (I'm a law student). I've been on RCL many times and I've been on Disney cruises before. The most important part of the cruise to me is the ship itself. I could really not care less about the ports. So I've started doing my price comparisons for cruises. I'd like to do a 5-7day cruise. Carnival is a lot cheaper then RCL. I'm willing to try it but my problem is my bf will be cruising with me and he's never been on a cruise before. So that begins my nervousness.

Like I said, I've never been on Carnival and have only heard stories. I've heard the ships look "cheap" and that the crowd tends to be a yonger drunker crowd. Although I am young, I don't care to be around a bunch of 20 somethings who are obnoxiously drunk. I hear lots of bad stories about Carnival but I know a lot of you on here go back time and time again so I feel it can't be as bad as people I know say.

So what I'm wondering is if someone could just help me out with what I should know about carnival. Is there a few ships that are better then the rest or some that I should stay away from? How are the shows and the nightlife? How is the food in the dining areas and is the dress more casual?

The Carnival rep for a drunken party cruise is a 25 year old myth perpetuated by people who have never cruised Carnival - or did once a couple decades ago. As a rule of thumb, for obvious reasons you will find more serious partiers on a short 4 or 5 day cruise or one during Spring Break. On a seven day cruise, you will find much the same crowd as on RCI. You aren't going to find a bunch of drunks on either line, but you will find a select few individuals on both RCI and Carnival. It's not cheap to drink all day on a cruise, and the real party crowd will normally opt for a cheap all inclusive. You will be happy on Carnival I'm certain. Others will chime in with specific ship by ship comparisons I'm sure.