Overbooking on Vendaam to Bermuda July 4th

cricri7

Hi guys....I am leaving on the Vendaam this Sunday July 4th. I just got a call from my travel agent this morning asking me if I wanted to postpone my vacation. It seems they have overbooked the ship and are asking people to postpone their vacation until August. I am relatively new to cruising, this in only my 3rd cruise, so I did not know that cruise lines did the same thing as airlines. They are offering a reimbursement of 620$ and a possible upgrade or credit onboard the ship. I said no because my plane ticket is already bought...my vacation started today (I am a high school teacher so the school year just ended)..my hotels are boooked...I have been dreaming about this cruise for a while now so I said no to my travel agent even with all the interesting perks attached to the offer.

I am curious.....does this sort of thing happen often? Should I be worried about my cabin being taken away from me....haha....What do they do if not enough people accept their offer?

I am curious if anyone here booked on the Vendaam for the 4th had the same call I did.

Yes, this happens from time to time, and no, they will not take your cabin from you. Go and enjoy your hard-earned cruise:) Somebody, somewhere will accept their offer, and if not, they will keep sweetening the deal until someone does. This happned to me just last month prior to my Alaska cruise departure. I got a very good deal to take a later cruise, and because no airfare was involved, I was able to take advantage of it.:)

Bon Voyage!

Their booking estimates will usually allow for overbooking because they can normally expect a certain amount of people to cancel and they do want to sail with the ship as full as possible to maximize the income on the voyage.

Sounds like they got caught with their fingers in the cookie jar.