sleeping on long haul flights

t60

Sleeping on planes is often different for everyone. I travel for a living and it took many overnight flights to find what worked perfectly for me - get very little sleep the night before and take the last flight out of the night. For example, I am flying down to Australia on Friday for work, and am taking the 11:30pm flight out of LAX. However, my travels start in Kansas City, so my body will say it's 1:30am when I leave LAX. By the time dinner is over, my body says it's 3:00am and is putting me to sleep no matter what environment I am in. Add a drink or two in to that (not too much) and it usually works if I only slept 4 hours the night before at home.

However, everyone is different, and I think very few people get it right at first. It takes practice and tweaking to figure out exactly what your body likes.

Long ago I was studying like crazy for college finals. Stayed up 48 hours. My family and I had a red eye to New York and my mother gave me a Xanax in the airport to help me sleep. Unfortunately, she didn't know I had been up for 48 hours. She kept asking me if I was feeling the Xanax and I wasn't. But I didn't know what it was supposed to feel like either.

When we got up from the lounge to go to the gate for boarding, I stood and fell back into the chair. I looked at my mom and said, "What did you give me!?!" I almost didn't make it to the plane! :eek: Needless to say I was passed out before take-off. I slept until we landed. And then I was wide awake and hit New York City running! Best sleep I ever had.

That pillow is no magic solution.

Sleeping on long haul flights is something I've had to learn to do over many, many flights. I go easy on food and alcohol and wear comfortable clothing.

I have my own very good eye shades and shawl I use for a blanket.

I can sleep a long time on flights often to the amazement of my travel mates, but it is not as good as sleeping at home.