P&O versus Cunard

MawganTr

Having sailed on all 3 Cunard Queens I am now trying to persuade my husband to try P&O. (In particular Ventura Venice - Genoa) We've loved Cunard - as 2, 40 something teachers travelling without my children we enjoy the grown up feel of the ships. The question is, though, how does P&O compare? Don't get me wrong, we're most definitely not anti children so that's not the issue. How does the quality of food, entertainment, staterooms, staff, price of drinks etc compare? Thank you in advance!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I am trying the opposite to you. I normally sail with P and O but I have booked a mini cruise on Queen Victoria in October. I am a bit worried it might be a bit stuffy. I work in a school also so have to sail in school holidays.

I found the drink prices to be very reasonable on P and O ships, £13.50 for a bottle of white wine but don't drink anything else so can't help you there. We like the tribute bands on board and have just come off the Oriana which had a fantastic Beatles tribute. Their 'Headliners' productions are of good quality too but unfortunately I cannot compare with Cunard until I have sailed with them.

We've don a TA on the QM and 2 Caribbean with P & O, 2 very different holidays, the TA was in December with very rough sea's to do a bit of shopping in NY, is was one of those trips that you never forget.

Cunard is a lot more glamorous and slightly stuffy - not in a bad way though than P & O even though P & O is formal it is a bit more relaxed than Cunard but they are both very British we found P & O a little more friendly.

We wouldn't want to do a TA in a P & O ship Cunard ticked all the boxes if they did fly cruises to the Caribbean we would try them.

Food better on Cunard fillet instead of sirloin

Staff friendlier on P & O

Bedding and pillows win hands down on Cunard

Drinks are cheaper on P & O no SC like Cunard

Staterooms v cabins Cunard wins

Entertainment 50/50