Should I Stay or Should I Go?

LAOkie

Hey Cruisers,

Alright, in the words of "The Clash", the question I'm asking to you all today is "should I stay or should I go?". Here's the scoop.

I have a cruise booked on MSC Divina R/T out of Barcelona on May 11th of this year. The itinerary has 5 ports: Ibiza (Spain), Naples, Florence, and Genoa (all in Italy) and Marseilles, France. 

I haven't heard any official word from MSC yet, but given the current situation in Italy with COVID-19 (Coronavirus), I'm not quite sure what to do. The one unique consideration here is that MSC's European itineraries (including this one) allow passengers to embark and disembark at any port. Given this, I would expect MSC to likely cancel rather than reroute the ship. 

Also, my office sent out an email yesterday notifying us that if anyone decides to travel to countries that have a community outbreak of Coronavirus, they will not be allowed to return to work until they've quarantined themselves in their home for 2 weeks.

I'd love some perspectives and advice on this - particularly if anyone has a similar situation to mine. Would love to hear what you're doing in this case and what you would expect!

The somewhat silver lining here is that I can work from home while I'm quarantined at my house if needed, but the whole thing is just a big question mark at this point. Who knows what the situation is going to be like by the time May rolls around - it could be totally fine, but it could be way worse. *Shrug*

• Like 1

It will be a big hit...I did get travel insurance, but it's not the "cancel for any reason" travel insurance (which was incredibly expensive). And the airline tickets I'm sure are non-refundable.

If I were to cancel right now, I'd be out around ~$3,000 (which all things considered, isn't horrible considering that includes flights and cruise fares for 2 people). That's why I'm hoping if MSC cancels, I'd at least get my money back (and maybe an FCC if they're nice).