Reprice newbie, please help

MarinerAlex

So I've never done a reprice before, looking to get some advice from the group before I attempt.

I have a booking for April 2023 through a TA (the platinum variety) which I've only put the $500 non refundable deposit down, and final payment is due 1/1/23. Right now, I see a deal on the celebrity website that can potentially save me about $1k off that price, same room / benefit and all.

1. If I reprice, would I lose the $500 deposit? Since this would not be a technical "cancel", hopefully they just apply my deposit to the repriced cruise.

2. I assume I would lose any of the promotions I had before, and just get the current promotions applied. I'm ok with this.

3. Do I call Celebrity, or do I call my TA?

4. I'm going to be on Infinity in early September, so would it be better for me to wait until then and try to rebook it while I'm on the cruise in order to get the additional on cruise booking benefits? Would this even work? Should I just "cancel" now and lose the $500, and hope to come out ahead while I book onboard? I realize lots can change between now and then and prices may go up.

This is not straightforward at all.

Thanks!

I would call X directly before the promotion ends (28 hours from now: 4 pm Pacific time Saturday). By the time your September cruise rolls around, there may be several more promotions and this could be the best one. If there is a better one, then call again. We’re on a September 16 cruise and are fully paid up. The current promotion price was $300 lower than what we paid. I called X, even though I’m booked through a Big Box store and they gave me a $300 OBC. We are Elite + but I’m not sure if that had anything to do with it.

All of your assumptions are correct.   You can reprice without affecting your deposit.  You will forfeit any promotions associated with your original booking and get any with the current prevailing rates.