Cruise crud....getting worried

COLLEYBERRY

Our last two cruises both my husband and I returned from vacation with glorious upper respiratory infections.Began feeling unwell just as we were leaving the ship.

I work in health care (thought I would be immune to most germs by now:)) As for hand washing , because of my work it's simply a way of life for me. DH has been well schooled in the art form.;)

Our next cruise we plan to avoid the LIdo (my theory less people around my food the better.) A little paranoid I know but when I recall how sick we were I begin to worry about post cruise for this trip(Alaska Sept)

How many have found "cruise crud" as it is rightly called, to be the norm after cruising?

Honestly if we are ill after this cruise I am not sure we''ll sail again.:(

Sorry, but I think you're paranoid about the Cruise Crud. You can just as easily get sick on the airplanes going there, the shops you visit in ports, the bus or taxis you take, museums you visit, etc. It's part of "the joy of traveling"...just take your cold meds along or whatever you use at home that works and keep on cruising!

Personally I think airplanes are much more crud-filled. Yet another reason to hate flying.

I've not (touch wood) experienced "the crud" after cruising, but I also carry and use Purell, eat packaged food in the airports, and avoid touching everything I can in the airports and in the planes. And use Purell all the time. All the time. By the time I'm done with flights (going to cruise and coming back) I have dermatitis all over my hands. Better that than the crud, though.

How many have found "cruise crud" as it is rightly called, to be the norm after cruising?

Not once have I or hubby been sick, or even felt sick after leaving a ship, cruise or otherwise. Keeping fingers crossed:D

Joanie