European Explorer: EXTREMELY late/long REVIEW

bluenoser2

O.K. – I have newfound respect for those of you who have your review up and posted with pictures the day after your return to reality. We returned at the end of June from our wonderful European Explorer cruise on the Crown, and I’m just now getting a chance to think about it. Would YOU like to go along with me on my memory cruise? I kept looking and looking for someone else to write their thoughts, but haven’t ever seen anything. This is my first time “reviewing”, so be gentle with me folks. First, a little introduction. Last Christmas, my dear sweet mom passed away, but the wish (really more of a demand) she gave my dad was that he take DH and me on one more cruise (they had already taken us on a couple of amazing trips). So, Dad asked us what cruise we would like to go on, and this was our choice – we thought we’d be saving for years for it, but when we saw that it wasn’t in the itinerary for 2012 we got a little worried that we might never get to do it, so, since he was asking, we told him, and he said, “sure, why not!” And the planning began.

We did all our booking through Princess, and booked 2 side by side Caribe balcony rooms in January. DH and I are 50 and 48 years old, and my dad, 83. Our stowaway was Florence – you’ll meet her along the way. We had previously done the Mediterranean cruise on the Emerald with my parents in 2007, beginning in Rome, so thought it would be fitting to begin in Rome again, going the other direction. (Besides, I keep forgetting to throw a coin in the fountain there, so I HAVE to go back, right?!!)