footwear??

mamoune

I don't think that is a strange question at all! The cobblestone streets and uneven surfaces present a challenge. We found some steep streets have flat, smooth stones that are slick, too.

Tennis shoes are good if you like them. My feet get too hot, so I prefer a good pair of walking sandals. I found some made by Ecco. If there is a Walking Store in your mall, go check them out.

http://www.eccousa.com

I think the best place to find the information you are looking for is the section on Cruise Critic called Cruise Fashions and Beauty:

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/forumdisplay.php?f=182

Good luck!

I have 2 pairs of SAS walking shoes,summer and winter and 1 pair of their sandals. I have been wearing them all over Europe for the last 8 years.They are the most comfortable shoes I have ever owned and they last forever.I have tried others like Ecco and Clarks but for me the SAS shoes are the most comfortable.

Everyone's feet are different and how we walk is different too sooooo any good pair of walking shoes/sandals will work. I tend to wear Clarks andof course at this moment I cannot think of the name:rolleyes: of the other brand I like!

Go to the shoe store and enjoy trying them on!!

Be sure to get something with support and cushion. Not only are the streets and ruins uneven, but many of the floors are marble, such as in the Vatican. I can still remember from years ago that the only day my feet hurt was on the Vatican tour due to the hard marble.

And please get something other than tennis shoes. There are many alternatives out there these days. I like the Merrill's that have the tennis shoe type bottom but the tops are mesh and criss-cross like mary janes.

Whatever you wear, make sure that the shoes are well broken-in and not new out of the box.