Shoes that won't kill your feet

sparkins_mob

I'm going on my first cruise in May and I'm trying to find a good walking shoe and wondering what everyone recommends? It's a very port intensive Mediterranean cruise and I've signed us up for a LOT of tours so I need to find a good shoe that won't kill my feet.

Do you prefer a walking/running shoe, or a sandal type? I'm worried that my feet may be too hot in sneakers and socks, but sandals may not have enough support.

I have a lot of nurse friends that recommend New Balance sneakers, but are they worth the hype?

I'm a nurse, I work in a good supportive sneaker. I wouldn't think of walking for long periods in anything else! I also recommend you wear them around at home a little before you leave so you know they're comfy. I'd also pack mole skin, just in case you get blisters. Have fun!!

I recommend a leather walking shoe - possibly a leather walking sandal. White running shoes/sneakers always stick out but you could get a leather that goes with skirts, shorts, pants. I personally can't wear shoes with a synthetic lining because the lining makes my feet too hot & they burn after a long day of walking. You may want to go to a 'Walking Store" or to Clark's and try some. What feels great on my foot may be uncomfortable to you.

I also would suggest bringing two pairs of comfortable shoes. You never know when something may rub the wrong way.

Hi:) if you do a search for "walking shoes" you will find tons of threads

on the topic. Many gals wear sandals while others wear a shoe (with

a sock).

I agree with Janine and would suggest bringing 2 pairs. I sailed to the Med for the first time in May 2012:D.....omg...best cruise I have ever

taken:) I did learn one thing....I need a closed shoe and sock for walking.

I brought a pair of "Grasshoppers"....they are black leather, lace up and they

literally saved me:).....I had worn sandals pre-cruise in Rome and didn't