Prices seem all over the place

amyhphoto

I made a last minute decision to take my 2 children on a girls trip Aug 05 or 06 for a week on a cruise in the Caribbean. We live in South Florida so were close to all of the florida ports. Im kinda new at this and am very confused by the pricing. It seems like first of all the prices are exactly the same on the cruise line website as they end up being on the travel agency sites. (after you get past the shockingly inaccurate low low price offers) What is the benefit of booking on one site vs the other if all of the prices are identical? Maybe Im missing something. Secondly the prices seem to go up and down daily, is there a point where the prices are the least expensive/most expensive? Since its last minute I feel like I am gambling and Im kind of stuck and not knowing which cruise to pick in case the more expensive ones drop in price and Ill regret booking the less expensive one.

Thank you for any help, I hope this makes sense.

As far as the cruise website vs TA; some cruise lines are deeply discounted, legitimately by certain TAs, but most are not. Carnival, NCL, and royal are not typically discounted as far as I can tell. Most of what you would get from a TA is if they are advertising on board credit or a free shore excursion.

As far as the second point, yes, prices change daily. In my experience they tend to be cheapest a year+ out for early early bookers. They also tend to drop after final payment date (think you are already past that) because that's the point they can put the cruise on sale but not re-price the bookings they already have. For you, from here on out it just depends on how well it's selling; if it's selling well priced will go up, if it isn't selling prices will keep dropping. Best thing you can do is search until you find a cruise you want at a price you want to pay. Book it and then don't check prices again.

Sent from my iPhone using Forums