4* dining discount for guests?

luvn2cruzzz

I did, for eight others. Because we were ten, celebrating a significant birthday, I called Ship Services a couple of months prior to departure, to book the large table in the PG. I paid full price for all ten at time of booking. And got the discount back as OBC during the cruise.

I have read of others not being able to get the discount for their guests, though. Hopefully, that was a one off.

Wondering if our discount applies if we take friends for dinner who are not 4*. I thought I heard somewhere it did but wanting to hear from anyone who has experience with this. Thanks!

If you pay, you get the discount. If your guests pay, there is no discount.

Sometimes you get the discount, sometimes you don't. When I invited a guest to join me in the Pinnacle, expecting he would use my second 'free' dinner, I was charged at his 4* rate.

Since our dinner was on the last night, and it didn't show up charged until I got my bill as I was disembarking, I let it go.

Based on many posts I have read on this board, others have gotten the discount, though.

Sometimes you get the discount, sometimes you don't. When I invited a guest to join me in the Pinnacle, expecting he would use my second 'free' dinner, I was charged at his 4* rate.

Since our dinner was on the last night, and it didn't show up charged until I got my bill as I was disembarking, I let it go.

Based on many posts I have read on this board, others have gotten the discount, though.

I wonder if that was because "you" get the free dinner (being a 5 Star)?