Baltic ports advice needed

I will be traveling on holland America on sept 4 leaving from Amsterdam.  This is my first time cruising alone ( always before with my husband).  I am pretty independent but I am wondering what ports would be best for booking excursions and what ports I could just wander.  I will definitely book for St. Petersburg and based on this forum I am looking at some sites recommended.  I really appreciate any advice you might give.

Both Tallin and Warnemunde are easy ports to do on your own. In Tallin you could walk from the port, take the shuttle or taxi to the old town, walk around (good shopping) & return. In Warnemunde, you could take the train, which is adjacent to the port, to Rostock,Swerajen (sp)etc.

We booked a tour with Anastasia Travel when we were in St. Petersburg last May. I highly recommend their services and I actually heard from them that they also do excursions in other Baltic Ports. They were very responsive and professional in communicating with us during the planning stage. We had an amazing time with them during the tour and everything was well-prepared and well-executed. We didn't have any problems with them and we just had to enjoy and relax during the whole tour with them. 

• Like 1

16 hours ago, Sandifer said:

Argus,  warnemunde., Tallinn, Helsinki, Copenhagen, Oslo

Warnemunde is easy to explore on your own - you could also easily DIY to Rostock - the train station in located across the street from the Warnemunde cruise terminal.

Tallinn is super easy to DIY - it is a short walk (about 15 minutes) to the old walled city. Great info here: https://www.visittallinn.ee/eng/visitor/plan/good-to-know/tourist-information and https://www.visittallinn.ee/eng/visitor/plan/good-to-know/tourist-information

We used the trams in Helsinki to DIY. You can opt to take a taxi or shuttle to market square and from there, the city is easy to explore. Great info here: https://www.myhelsinki.fi/en/helsinki-tourist-information