Hotel in London- need advice...

I will be in London pre-cruise mid June- and would like a nice,clean hotel - right now I have a tentative reservation at the Rembrandt in Knightsbridge area (across from the Victoria & Albert Museum, near Harrods), but the price is a little steep!

Any suggestions for 4 star hotel? (Rembrandt is rated 3 star some places, 4 star others)...

I had read a suggestion about the Hutton Hotel - in Belgrave?

We will be touring Tower of London, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, etc....will be touring strictly London area -

Looking forward to suggestions.....this is my first time in London.

CJ cruzer

Just looked at the Hutton, I have never heard of it and it does look low grade.The Hotels in this street are very basic,they are converted from family houses,you would be amongst the back packers here and the asylum seekers.The Rembrandt is a million times better in quality and location.

I'm not a big fan of the Rembrandt. Good location to Knightsbridge, but the room we had there was small, well worn, and hotter than a plant house. On the plus side, their rates do include full breakfast.

For similar money, I would go the Holiday Inn Forum just a bit further down the street. If you can stretch a bit further, then the Millenium Gloucester across from the Forum would be my personal choice.

A friend of mine who is a US TA stayed at the Hilton Paddington (what used to be the Great Western Hotel) and was very impressed with it. It has just (well in the last year or so) had a £16million refit and is right on top of Paddington station, so when you want fly home, the Heathrow Express is on your doorstep and you will be at the airport in 15 minutes. Sorry, I've no idea of prices, but heres a link.

http://www.hilton.co.uk/Paddington

Simon