HELP! I'm going to miss my ship !!! :(

Ranyw

Help !

I work as a personal assistant. I have to plan my vacations around my employer's schedule. I've booked my family on a cruise on May 3rd and it looks like I will be called into work :( :( . Of course the one time I didn't get the travel insurance this happens. Its a short cruise from Long Beach to Catalina island & Ensenada Mexico. My backup plan is to take a boat to the first stop and try to embark there. Has anyone else been thru this before ? Do I need to call carnival ahead of time ? I'm not 100% sure about any of the plans tho ??

This is like the worst feeling ever ...

I don't think I would allow a "job" to override an already planned and approved vaca. Probably wouldn't want to work for someone that wouldn't respect such plans. Of course this is me and am in an entirely different type of field than you are in. With that being said...enjoy your cruise and a new "job" awaits upon your return.

Don't think they'll allow this. They've gotten stricter doing these things.

If they do allow this it needs to be prearranged. Obviously they will not prorate the cost of the cruise.

Edited by SadieN

Good luck, but I doubt Carnival will allow you to board until maybe Ensenada, because if you board in Catalina, it becomes a violation of the Passenger Services Vessel Act of 1886 that says ships cannot transport people between 2 US ports without visiting a distant foreign port. The penalty is $300.

Would insurance even pay for this if you had it?

Depends on the policy. While several policies do have "cancel for work reasons" clauses, you need to read the fine print to see what is covered. Some will only refund if you can provide proof that you had vacation awarded and then rescinded. Other policies will only need a letter from the employer saying that the employee is required to work.