Flam Railway Tour

sabrefan

Booked on the Viking Sky in May 2020 and currently looking at shore excursions. Have read a number of reviews on the Flam Railway tour which is taking out of the port stop of Eidfjord, Norway. I have read that there is a lot of bus travel along with the train trip. I have read that there is little opportunity for stopping aside from that of changing between busses and the train. I am a semi professional photographer and I am wondering if the train has an open or partially open car where one could attempt to take decent pictures? I would certainly appreciate any comments or information in regards to the train. Trying to take photos through glass windows is unacceptable for good image quality in my view.

My recommendation for Flåm, if your cruise is starting or ending in Bergen, would be to do the Norway in a Nutshell 2-day tour with an overnight in Flåm. Either Oslo to Bergen, Bergen to Oslo, or Bergen to Bergen.
In my opinion, Flåm is much more enjoyable after the cruise ships and tour busses have left.
Then assuming your cruise has Flåm as one of its ports, you can do another activity that day, like a RIB boat tour, rent a Twizzy electric car and take a drive around for independent sightseeing, rent a bike, or do some shopping (amongst the massive daytime crowds).

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

If I recall from the number of times I have done this trip, there is a small area at the end of some of the train cars outside where you can get good photos.  The train stops at a waterfall where you can get off the train and get some good shots of the falls, the train and the area.

Thank you all for the advice. Our cruise starts in Copenhagen and ends in Bergen. However we have already made our air reservations so we will have to do this train trip through the cruise ship. At least there will be some photo opportunities.