Something for shoulder/arm warmth over formal dresses

ok, silly question, but I really do not know the answer. What do you wear over your shoulders/arms for a bit more warmth when wearing a formal dress? I am not very worldly regarding dressy/formal wear., but I am getting better at dressing up and do enjoy it immensely, but I'm still learning. I love the occasional time I get to wear my gorgeous dresses, but I just go from car to restaurant, so haven't been in this situation.

I am off on our first cruise at Christmas (Baltic cruise) and wonder what I can put over any dress I currently have (Or may buy) to provide smart/formal extra warmth if I require it. I am in my mid /late 40s...

Please post photos where you can of ideas :)

Thanks

I've always brought a wrap (pashmina sort of thing), but have NEVER needed it! It really ruins the look of your dress, IMO...and is a pain to drag around all night!

Just bring something lightweight, and neutral...maybe silver or some other metallic color that will go with anything. Chances are you'll be able to leave it in the cabin. Unless you REALLY want to, there's no need to go outdoors in your gown!!

Edited by cb at sea

Depending on the style of the gown you could also opt for a nice bolero or shrug in a fabric that will go with your gown.

I know that I get cold easily in the air-conditioned dining rooms and when I step outside to walk in the moonlight with the DH so I always have some kind of wrap, bolero, or shrug that I wear. I love the idea of a faux fur wrap...how fun and different. It's an awesome idea and could be worn with all your gowns and dresses. How fun!:D I must hit some vintage shops and see if I can find one for my next cruise!!!:D

Thanks for the great tip Flordiana! Love it!

Baltic in December? (fake) fur stole! silk/wool pashmina!

The interior of the ship will be heated. ;)