Dipping my toes in the Princess water...

TheGinBoy

Hi Guys,

Happy Friday!

So, I've been cruising for about nine years now, and in that time I've done six cruises. All with Royal Caribbean, from their tiny Vision class up to the huge Freedom class.

As much as I loved, and still love Royal Caribbean, I fancied trying something new (well they do say variety is the spice of life!). So I thought I'd give Princess a go.

I booked a three-night short cruise from Southampton on the Emerald Princess (23 April 2016) as an anniversary surprise for myself and my boyfriend. Unfortunately he dumped me last week. Woo. :-/

I'm still going (who'd waste a cruise!!?) but now I'm going to take one of my best friends with me - he's new to cruising so should be interesting.

We're both 30, gay, enjoy a drink and a dance. I know Princess generally have a slightly more mature crowd than Royal Caribbean (don't hit me!) but I can make anywhere I go fun.

So I have a few questions for you Princess gurus!

1)
Is there anything I mustn't miss on Emerald Princess? Any unique features to this ship or the class I should try out?

2)
What venues should we hit? I know there are loads and we only have three nights. I'm pretty excited about Skywalkers.

3)
What's the deal with drinks packages? I've had trouble finding UK info on them. I'd probably get us whatever package allows unlimited cocktails.

4)
Is there likely to be a formal on a three night Princess cruise? I know Royal wouldn't do one on this short a cruise. But I want to be prepared.

5)
Any other top Princess tips :)

I AM A GIANT EAR FOR YOUR WORDS OF WISDOM.

Edited by TheGinBoy

Welcome to Princess.

I can't help you too much, here is what I know:

3. the All Inclusive Beverage Package (AIBP) give you cocktails, beer, wine, and non-alcoholic drinks. It is about $50per day per person. a 15% gratuity is added to the cost. Covers drinks under $10. If drink cost more you pay the excess.

4. No formal night on 3 night cruise.