How do hurricanes affect port Everglades departures

Optotronics

I'm pretty new to cruising.

Our first cruise was in January so no issues there, but our next is on November 5th on the royal and since this is towards the end of the hurricane season I thought I would ask.

Has your cruise ever been cancelled or delayed by a hurricane hitting near ft. Lauderdale? How does princess handle it? Does the cruise get cancelled? Or does it leave a day or two late and the cruise is shortened?

Cruises are rarely canceled, if ever. If a hurricane will affect Port Everglades, the port will close and ships will stay at sea, as far from the path of the storm as possible.

Depending on weather, cruises will be either lengthened or shortened. It all depends.

While November is technically the end of hurricane season, they are so very rare at that time of year. I'm native Floridian and only recall one year having storms past September and they were all pretty weak.

While November is technically the end of hurricane season, they are so very rare at that time of year. I'm native Floridian and only recall one year having storms past September and they were all pretty weak.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Wilma

I was living in florida, and I forget which storm is was, but the cruise we were to embark was delayed

2-3 days. Port Everglades was closed. Ships stayed at sea.

They offered us a discount price to come for the shortened cruise.

As I had not power in my home, and hotel rooms everywhere were sold out, I was

happy to go on a ship that has air conditioning and hot water.

The funniest part -- all my windows had hurricane shutters -- so I was packing

in the dark to go to the ship.

For the people who were already on board, they offered them huge discounts to stay on

the the shortened cruise.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Wilma

I was living in florida, and I forget which storm is was, but the cruise we were to embark was delayed