Tipping for Room Service

DSJ28

I'll be traveling on the MSC Divinia in September - fingers crossed - and I've selected the Fantastica experience because I enjoy room service breakfast on the balcony.  This is my first time on MSC and I've heard tipping can be a bit different than on other cruise lines.  I typically bring small bills for cash tipping room service delivery.  Is this and customary and acceptable practice aboard MSC ships?

2 hours ago, DSJ28 said:

I'll be traveling on the MSC Divinia in September - fingers crossed - and I've selected the Fantastica experience because I enjoy room service breakfast on the balcony.  This is my first time on MSC and I've heard tipping can be a bit different than on other cruise lines.  I typically bring small bills for cash tipping room service delivery.  Is this and customary and acceptable practice aboard MSC ships?

On the two mornings we had breakfast delivered in cabin, we tipped $5 each time.

• Like 1

22 hours ago, Dgshooter said:

It is not expected, but I tip a couple of bucks to room service or waiters/waitresses in the bars. I'm sure it is welcome.

Tipping for room service?  Yes, I do that as well.  $2/person seems about right to me, unless I have ordered a full breakfast which is something that I don't often do when using room service.  

Once upon a time, I would tip a dollar or two in the bars.  After reading many, many posts on CC about tipping, I decided to stop doing so.  Service and drink quality didn't seem to change when I stopped.  I do offer the bartenders and/or stewards an end of the cruise gratuity usually.  

5 hours ago, rkacruiser said:

Tipping for room service?  Yes, I do that as well.  $2/person seems about right to me, unless I have ordered a full breakfast which is something that I don't often do when using room service.