Lecture Topics-Architecture Related

Clay Clayton

I think I would like to become a Viking Ocean Guest Lecturer but wanted to see what topics fellow cruisers would find interesting before I do the initial work to prepare a sample lecture.  I am an Architect so that would need to be the jumping off point. 

Would travelers be interested in modern Architecture? The Oslo Opera House for instance and the story of how it came to be?

or is historical architecture more of what fellow passengers would want to learn about?

or should I focus on the personal stories behind the Architect?

or all of the above

or not at all-who cares about architecture?😂

thanks for your input!

I would prefer to hear about the more modern architecture and how these buildings came to be built.  In the historical era I am sure those with money just built them whereas there are now far more things to be considered and overcome. Also provokes discussion on whether a building will stand the test of time to become 'historical'

I can just imagine the conversation  - Viking 'Clay, would you be able to be a guest lecture on (insert) Viking cruise? Clay 'i'll need to think about that, oh go on then'

• Like 1
  • Haha 2

Clay,

When I read this I got a bit excited!  

I am lousy at history and lousy at architecture facts too.

One of my favourite tours ever was the river boat cruise of the Chicago River with an Architect Historian as the tour guide.  It was fascinating how she tied modern architecture to past architecture, and pulled out elements of different buildings that I would have missed all together if just gazing at the buildings as we sailed past.

In a similar sense, countries and cities of Europe with their blocks of buildings that don't go above - I think - 4 stories... and the reasons why.  

Cities like Dubrovnik where the city is built on hills flowing to the centre of the city so that the sewage and waste water can run away....