Salon tipping

desibee

Prices for haircut, style, and blowout was around what I would pay on land for my hair so I decided to try something new and get my hair cut in the salon the first night of our cruise.  I've never used the salon on a ship before so I'm just wondering how gratuities work.  I know they charge a certain percentage in gratuities.  Is it also customary to tip the hair stylist personally?  If so, how much is expected?  Can you use your OBC for gratuities or should you tip in cash only?

Posted (edited)

If you were to add an additional gratuity and did not do so in cash, it would be charged to your stateroom account and any OBC on the account would be credited towards the payment.  As that is typically ship sponsored OBC, they would pay the gratuity instead of you. IMO that would be the better option.

But I also agree that if a gratuity is added to the charge, I would not feel the need to add more.

Edited by leaveitallbehind

3 minutes ago, desibee said:

Prices for haircut, style, and blowout was around what I would pay on land for my hair so I decided to try something new and get my hair cut in the salon the first night of our cruise.  I've never used the salon on a ship before so I'm just wondering how gratuities work.  I know they charge a certain percentage in gratuities.  Is it also customary to tip the hair stylist personally?  If so, how much is expected?  Can you use your OBC for gratuities or should you tip in cash only?