Tips for Booking a "Good" Veranda Stateroom?

Erinchita

Good afternoon. I have been charged with doing the research and booking for a family cruise in April. I have been on four cruises - 3 Celebrity and 1 Princess - so I have some experience with this. We are looking at cruises on S Class ships - Reflection or Silhouette at this point.

I need to state up front that the three remaining people in my family have poo poo'ed cruises forever, I've been working on them for YEARS to try out a cruise and they only now finally agreed to it when they saw how much you get for your money as opposed to a traditional vacation trip to the Caribbean.

On to my question - this trip is for my Dad's 60th birthday. I told my parents they must get a veranda stateroom to get the full experience, and they agree. Also my dad is very fussy and I feel like - even if you're unhappy with the buffet one morning how can you complain about sitting on a balcony in the middle of the Caribbean.

So now it's nearly January and we are just booking for April. I am concerned we are going to get a crappy veranda stateroom since we are booking so late. I have seen there are some with "humps" (??) and there are obstructed view staterooms. I know my fussy parents and this would ruin their trip and cruising for them in general. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to avoid getting a less-than-stellar balcony room? What kinds of questions should I ask the travel agent? Are there certain categories that avoid the bad balconies? Any that are better than others?

Thank you SO much in advance for any help you can offer. This is all on my and the anxiety is rising! ;)

You want a cabin that's in the middle of the ship (a bit less motion...and a bit less walking to get anywhere).

Don't get an obstructed view cabin...not because they are bad (in fact the obstructions are generally not bothersome at all) but because they give something to complain about.