Anything like a rail pass available for cruises?

okgals

I'm new to cruise world but I was thinking how the negative is going on the ship schedule; this amount of time in each port etc. It would be so great if you could "hop on, hop off" and spend extra time in a port, say get off in Amsterdam, spend 3 days there and, having reserved a room, hop back on a ship next time in port. Is there anything like that out there? It would be great!:)

One big difference between a cruise ships an da hoho bus it that the ship depends on virtually every cabin to be filled every night. Allowing people to get off and catch the next ship would lead to people being left off when they ran out of space.

I'm new to cruise world but I was thinking how the negative is going on the ship schedule; this amount of time in each port etc. It would be so great if you could "hop on, hop off" and spend extra time in a port, say get off in Amsterdam, spend 3 days there and, having reserved a room, hop back on a ship next time in port. Is there anything like that out there? It would be great!:)

That would require cruise lines to have a fleet of ships dedicated to the same itinerary, running on a loop. And how far apart do you space them? A day? Every 2 days? Once a week?

Look at the ferry services in areas you want to travel

EG: DFDS

+1.

In Alaska, it is called the Alaska Marine Highway. Problem is that if the trip is overnight, they may not have available cabins so you will have to sleep in your tent on the deck.

DON

Because Western European trains are generally frequent and great some people actually cheekily do what you have described even when the cruise line doesn't like it...especially between Italian ports and French/Italian ports.

They 'miss the ship' or ring and say they are in a hospital in Livorno for example and board it the next day in Naples after a hotel and a high speed train. The trains are high speed and often ports are hours apart so why not?