New to oceania- dress code

LoriAB

I’m a newbie planning for a trip in April 2023. I noticed on some papers that sandals are not to be worn in the dining room. Being a FL resident, most of my shoes (even the dressy ones) are open in the front or the back. Is this going to be an issue for me? Thanks.

not  a problem with dressy sandal  no beach type  for dinner in the Restaurants 

You could were them in the Terrace 

smart casual  is acceptable  for dinner  for ladies

for men long trousers(slacks) & a collared shirt  Jacket optional

Enjoy

• Like 1

That's interesting. I've never seen that info before. It's pretty casual. I am guessing they don't want flip flops, although I have some nice flip flops I do wear. I've never seen anyone turned away because they weren't dressed correctly. You will see a range of the interpretation of 'casual'. My husband has a couple pair of travel pants (yes the kind with the big pockets) and he wears them to dinner every night. They look nice enough with a casual untucked shirt. 

It's one of the things we love about O!!

Unless they've changed it since 2017 (when we last cruised), O's dress code was "country club casual". That was absolutely meaningless to me - we do not have country clubs in the UK. I asked about it on a food forum I use, which had many American contributors, but never really got a good definition. The best that I could translate into British English was "smart casual" (as though I was going to a mid-range neighbourhood restaurant). Now, for me, that involves chinos and a polo (or smarter short-sleeved shirt). No flip-flops. I was fine with that and certainly did not look out of place.

I never saw anyone "underdressed" but I've no idea if that just meant everybody was conforming or some folk had been refused entry to the dining room.

41 minutes ago, LHT28 said:

What new rule is that?

I think what they are referring to is “sandals not permitted  in the dining room”