Delta more expensive even this far ahead?

Levi is good

I am not a new traveler in general but I'm VERY new to booking international flights.  We're heading to Barcelona to catch a cruise next May, and bizarrely, Delta is about $500 higher than other airlines for this flight.  We need it to be Delta as we have leftover credit from a previously cancelled flight.

We must be in economy/main, whichever the "lowest" fare is on a particular flight to allow pre-selecting seating.  Family of four, all adults.

I was just wondering if anyone knew why Delta would be so far out of range price wise, especially this far ahead.   One of the reasons I selected them for the first flight I booked (for a cancelled trip, which is why we have leftover credit) was the price/flexibility combination.  

Thank you.

Early birds don't always get worms.  Sometimes they get cats.

Put yourself in the airlines' shoes.  What's the price of a gallon of Jet A fuel going to be in 10 months?  How about the hourly wages of bag handlers in Atlanta or Amsterdam?  What if a recession, or a reawakening of a pandemic, occurs starting this autumn?  

If the answer to these questions is "I don't know," then the smart move on the airlines part would be to set prices high enough that they can still turn a profit even if their direct or indirect costs spike in the meantime.  If their costs don't go up, great, more profit.  

As you know, there isn't one price for, say, a coach seat between LAX or SFO and, say, Amsterdam.  There are literally dozens of fare "buckets," each with a different price and different conditions - length of stay, cancellation or change penalties, yadda yadda.  The airlines publish these fares, but don't have to sell seats in any or all of them at any given time.  So in July 2022, they'll only sell seats in higher-priced buckets for flights departing in May 2023, in order to lock in profits that might leak out if lower-priced buckets are sold now.