Oosterdam Dec San Diego

psxer989

I've been cruising on NCL for years, but making the switch to HAL.  Going on the Oosterdam in December out of San Diego.  I usually leave from Long Beach, so this is my first time at San Diego.  I'll be driving down from the Riverside area.  I already prepaid for parking at the Wydham so no worries there.

1. I plan on bringing my bags from the parking garage (3 or 4 bags) myself.  It looks like it is an easy short walk to the terminal.  Is it?

2. I usually would board NCL around 11:30am, but it looks like HAL is pretty strict with a 1pm boarding time.  Is this true or can i get on earlier?

3. If I get my car parked early, since I want to give myself plenty of time for traffic, is there anything within walking distance of the port to kill time?

I did search for San Diego port info but most is about hotels or older info so any advice is appreciated!

The Wyndam is right across the street from the cruise terminal.  Even with luggage, you should have little problem in walking to your destination.  There is a Maritime Museum close to the cruise terminal, and Little Italy is a three or four block walk from the Wyndam.  In short, there's a lot of stuff to do in this small area of San Diego.

1 hour ago, Krazy Kruizers said:

Within walking distance is the Midway.

I wouldn't bother paying the admission fee.  It takes several hours to really tour the Midway.  There's a Ralph's in downtown that you may want to stop at to pick up wine, water, or any last minute items.  When Seaport Village was still in SD, that was something to do before boarding the ship.

• Like 1

Thanks everyone!  Really, 10:30am?  It's about a 90 minute drive so getting there will be fairly easy.  Figure if they aren't letting anyone board I can go find an early lunch place.  I'll still be able to check my bags first though right?  I've never done that without boarding immediately.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Roz said: