To Haven or not to Haven

Sdman36

its my first time on NCL, I been on several Carnival ships, mostly balcony cabins. Its been a good 13 years or so since last cruise. Anyway I am now retired and live in the Philippines, I'm originally from San Diego, CA. I decided to take a cruise within Asia, I found a cruise in Dec 15 on the Jade for 6 days. A big part of my search criteria was to find a suit type cruise with all the bells and whistles, that can be had. I looked for concierge/butler type service, special restaurant or lounge, priority boarding things like that. Drink/dinner packages if included a plus. So yes the Haven fit that, but I also found the Penthouse large balcony suite also fits most of that, and the Jade being a bit smaller, they do not have a special Haven restaurant, and the Haven area does not seem very large. So I book the PHS. and then was sent a upgrade email if I was interested in upgrading to the Haven. The min price bid was almost the same as I could have book it directly. I did get a great price for PHS, the cost of the upgrade seems high especially, as I get many of the same perks as Haven. So my question is for those that have paid for Haven/ vrs PHS on the smaller ships, it is still worth the extra expense, from photos the cabins look very nice, beyond that am I missing anything. Thanks

Just off the Jade last month. Stayed in forward penthouse suite on deck 9. Our decision matrix was similar to yours - the benefits of the Haven didn’t justify the higher cost. The room and bathroom are smaller in the forward penthouse but still very nice. The biggest benefit in our opinion was the amazing large balcony with fabulous views! We sailed the Med & absolutely loved our balcony time.

We have also stayed in the Haven on large ships and agree - the Haven is the way to go with the restaurant & bar & deck space.  But think you are making a wise choice with the forward suite.

Bottom line - either way you can’t go wrong🙂