Why Pre-pay Gratuities

rbslos18

1 minute ago, rbslos18 said:

Can someone explain the advantage of pre-paying gratuities as opposed to just having it added to our shipboard account? Is there a savings by doing this? Or is it just a matter of convenience?

I have never seen a reason to prepay gratuities.  Some people like to get off the ship with a zero balance and I guess that might be a reason.  But, you just prepaid so I don't quite get that.

In some countries the gratuities are automatically added to the booking price  and forms part of the holiday total account paid ahead of the cruise.  To be honest, as it is something that needs to be paid, I like this paying up front (I do it if gratuities are not included) not least because the currency conversion is already done for us as a result.

PS Never left a ship with a zero bill - that would never happen 🙂 🙂 

Edited by uktog

As a Viking newbie, I am planning to pre-pay our gratuities using our OBC so that we'll have a handle on how much OBC we will have remaining to spend once we are on board. Helps avoid the mental gymnastics of having to keep track of that as an outstanding expense if we don't pre-pay the gratuities. Hope that makes some sense.

• Like 1

I am incredibly glad we did NOT pre pay gratuities.  We have received a lot of non refundable SBC on this cruise due to canceled ports.  Luckily gratuities will eat up a good chunk of it.  I still will have to use the shops and spa to finish it up, but am planning on having a zero balance when we step off the ship.  

• Like 1