Solo Cruising

carolynhamblen

I am retired and planning a cruise, probably to Alaska. I'm just beginning to think about the whole process. I have been on 2 cruises before but both were about 20+ years ago so I know things have changed since that time. I really don't know where to begin to get information. The first question that comes to mind is that I am single and really love traveling by myself. When I look at prices they always state prices per person but I know that's not what I would have to pay if I was the only one in the cabin. I have no desire to share a cabin with a total stranger. My question is do any of the cruise lines make accommodations for solo cruisers without having to pay double the rate? I don't mind a smaller cabin as I'm not there to stay in my cabin, just sleep. I'd appreciate any information someone can provide about someone who wants to cruise solo and how cabins are priced in this situation.

If you scroll down to Special Interest Cruising you will find a thread for solo cruisers.  You may find many of your questions already answered there.  If not it would be a good place to post new questions.

Just completed a solo cruise to the Caribbean.  Suggest checking with the cruise line that you are considering. Some lines do have solo cabins otherwise you will pay almost the price for two people (you don’t pay double gratuities or port taxes). Can also depend on the type of cabin you plan to get - solo cabin is not always cheaper.  

Edited by Grandma Dazzles

I have been cruising solo since 2010, and I look at the price per day, not the solo supplement. I have a baseline I try to follow, although sometimes I may go over it a bit, if it’s a unique itinerary that I may only visit once.

As Grandma Dazzles stated, sometimes the solo single supplement cabins on certain ships, are more expensive than just paying for 2. For me, I will gladly pay double to have that cabin to myself. LOL