Is it necessary to have to have the app?

mek

Good to know - I'm not technically challenged, but I'm also one of those people who doesn't want to carry my phone around with me on a ship. The only thing I use it for on vacation is to take pictures.

• Like 4

1 hour ago, Anoynmous Phoenix said:

Not only do I not have the "app" I don't even have a "smart phone"!!

And I thought I was the last person left in this world without one.

Edited by yakcruiser
edit
  • Like 1

I have the app installed on my phone myself, and I actually use it frequently when on a cruise. I find it very convenient to be able to check charges on my ship account, and to have mobile access to "What is going on?" onboard, instead of carrying around the paper version of the Freestyle Daily. It also lists practical information about the various ports on the itinerary, and details of what I have booked day by day (speciality restaurants, shore excursions, etc).

Yes, you can absolutely "survive" perfectly fine on a cruise without the NCL app while. But personally I find there to be more "pro's" than "con's" to have it installed on my phone. 

Edited by TrumpyNor
spelling errors...
  • Like 1

I use the deck map a lot, especially when just getting on a ship that I’m not familiar with. We’re on the Joy since yesterday and I’ve probably used that five times already. Obviously you can also just read the guide by the elevators, but I like to know that I am headed to like “7th deck forward” before wandering around aimlessly.

22 hours ago, Distinctive-Destinations said:

I use the deck map a lot, especially when just getting on a ship that I’m not familiar with. We’re on the Joy since yesterday and I’ve probably used that five times already. Obviously you can also just read the guide by the elevators, but I like to know that I am headed to like “7th deck forward” before wandering around aimlessly.

I'll be on Joy 9/25.  How is the ship?