Silhouette - British Isles - "The Open" - Mini Review

pl281

Well we are just back from our wonderful time on the Silhouette doing the British Isles and The Open

It was myself, my wife our 3 year old son and my parents - had some other family on board as well but they did their own things.

If you have any questions please let me know.

Food - This is very subjective. We were very pleased with everything

Main Dining Room, Sushi on 5, cafe al bacio, Tuscan Grill, Buffet

Entertainment - We usually don't go for the shows, but they had a nice verity of shows many of which were local to the port we were in. I never felt that anything was "in your face" "Must do this"

Internet - Um..... We had unlimited with Go Best - I build websites for a living so I wanted to make sure I had connection.

The best was when we were in Amsterdam - got about 1.5mbps downspeed

most of the rest of the trip we were getting 0.5mbps down.

For doing Facebook and basic website updates it actually worked very well.

I do think they need to be a bit more up front about speeds in various locations. Some of it is limited bandwidth with a large number of users, some of it is also location / weather.

Cell Phone

We have Verizon Wireless - they have a package called "Travel Pass" - $2/Day (Mexico & Canada) $10/day most other countries.

What this does is then gives you your regular plan / data at $10/day (24 hour period not calendar day)

We only took it on one phone and our other phone we did wifi calling (both iPhones) and the wifi calling worked fine even on the slow connection.

Excursions - We did all our tours through the ship - I know that there are many on here that will say that we could do better on our own / XYZ - I'm not here to debate that.

We were very pleased with all the tours we did, the only issue was in Dublin, last tender to ship "was" 5:30 - well all the tours got back at 5:30 and we had to wait about 30-45 minutes to get on the tender.