Is a 10:10 am flight leaving Barcelona doable in October?

HBLm3

Hi. We are flying out of Barcelona after our October Celebrity Reflection cruise. The cruise is supposed to get into port at 5 a.m. Is a 10:10 a.m. flight doable and if yes, what is the best way? We are Aqua Class if that matters. The flight will go to London then connect to a flight to the states. Thanks!

We have flown out of Barcelona several times but the last time was in October 2019.  My memory is that each time we have flown out there have been significant slow lines and wait times.  It will be interesting to read the posts of others who have flown out more recently.

• Like 1

This is my first time taking a cruise so this is all new to me. I know from reading that it can take 2 hours sometimes after coming in to port to start letting people off the ship which would be around 7. How much leeway is usually needed? Airports have minimum connection times and while some people are okay with those, I usually like a buffer. What is the recommended buffer I guess is what I am asking? What do experienced cruisers consider the gold standard for a planned 5 a.m. docking time? We live on the west coast so there are less flight options later in the day for us. Thanks.

Our experience, most recent in October 2019, was a 2 hour lineup to get through the Business/1st class luggage checkin & customs clearance line.  Passengers flying economy with 11:00 a.m.  flights were very upset because it was obvious that they were going to miss their flights.  This was our second trip out of Barcelona (same story with the earlier one), so we said we'd never fly out of Barcelona again.  I would be interested to learn that things have improved post-covid.

Are you flying back to The States from Barcelona? If so I'd stay an extra night and book that flight for the following day. Gives you a lot of wiggle room and Barcelona is a great city to explore. 

Many variables, 10 am is too tight for me. 

Patty 

Edited by cw2go