Proposal to Federal Maritime Commission

govanguy

Here is the mission statement of this agency/commission.  I am no expert on marine affairs but I honestly never heard of them.  Perhaps others can weigh in on them?  Not really sure if we need another Federal agency (US only) trying to over-regulate the cruise industry.    Maybe if they focus on streamlining refunds and the refund process that would be a good thing.  But really not sure how that would affect all of the non-US cruisers in the refund process.  Anyway I would bet this would take years to accomplish just like most government initiatives.

Federal Maritime Commission- Our mission is to ensure a competitive and reliable international ocean transportation supply system that supports the U.S. economy and protects the public from unfair and deceptive practices.

Good article and overview of the existing FCC/refund process and problems. I for one would love to see action taken to regulate the refund process, not to enhance compensation but to standardize the process. There have been far too many examples cited on this board of claims falling through the cracks or passengers having to chase Celebrity time and time again. Whether this should be a government regulator or a CLIA initiative is a different question.

I suppose to optics are pleasing to some, but this proposed 'standard' is just a rehash of all of the major line's current policies.I don't think I've read a single complaint were someone was rightly due a refund and the cruiseline refused.

You have to allow the lines some accommodation for the sheer amount of refunds due. This is not normal. It backlogs the cruiseline and the credit card vendors. Now they are also having to do double work to contest charge backs that shouldn't have been granted initially. I don't see a bit of change coming from this...

• Thanks 1

23 minutes ago, Fouremco said: