"Who are the officers"....why?

dltvermont

So Im relatively new to cruising, just 4 so far. I see alot of people post asking who the officers etc are on a ship. Im just wondering why? Ive never even noted who my officers were until they were introduced during the cruise. I just never gave a second thought to who they were and it certainly wouldnt have made a difference in any of our cruises.

being a repeat cruiser,i have gotten to know many crew and officers. we have a few fave cruise directors and love it when we have them on a sailing. that's why i ask. my interest lies mostly with the CD and the captain, and various entertainers. I too have wondered tho why people want to know, say, the head chef or hotel manager. but maybe they have developed friendships with tehm too. who knows.

So Im relatively new to cruising, just 4 so far. I see alot of people post asking who the officers etc are on a ship. Im just wondering why? Ive never even noted who my officers were until they were introduced during the cruise. I just never gave a second thought to who they were and it certainly wouldnt have made a difference in any of our cruises.

Let me suggest an experiment then. You have 4 cruises where you haven't given a second thought to who the officers were.

On your next 4 cruises, change that. Get to know the officers. Introduce yourself. Get to know them, ask questions about their background, experiences, culture, etc... Give them that second thought. Then see how your cruise experience differs and you will understand why people who have taken the time end up feeling the way that they do.

Don't just dismiss what you haven't experienced.

The Captain, officers, and cruise director have different styles of communication, management and interacting with the passengers. I like to tell the officers what I have enjoyed or feel comfortable giving constructing criticism. It's much like foodies tracking who are the executive chefs at different restaurants around their city!